2020 Annual Gala

You are here


Dear Loyal Followers and Supporters, 

The Board of Directors of the South Florida Science Center and Aquarium is very excited to bring you, The Science of Espionage, virtually on November 5th, 2020 at 730pm EST. This exciting event will feature Eric O’Neill, who, in 2001, helped capture the most notorious and damaging double agent in United States history: Robert Hanssen, a 25-year veteran of the FBI. During his presentation, O’Neill will explore the undercover world of counterintelligence and the remarkable true events of his life, which are the inspiration behind the critically-acclaimed dramatic thriller Breach, the story of the greatest security violation in United States history.

We thank our event chairwomen, Mary Freitas, Elizabeth Gordon, and Caroline Rafferty for their dedication. We also thank our honorary chairmen, Frances and Jeffrey Fisher, Helene and Matt Lorentzen, Heidi and John Niblack, and Christine and Bob Stiller for their support during this challenging time.

If you have previously purchased tickets, please confirm your virtual attendance by replying to MHoffman@SFScienceCenter.org. If you have not purchased tickets yet, virtual tickets and packages are available now below. One week prior to the event you will be provided a link which will be your ticket to the Science of Espionage on November 5th at 7:30.  We look forward to “seeing” you then, and in the meantime, we thank you for your support and for joining us for a spy-filled event! 


Kate Arrizza, President & CEO

South Florida Science Center and Aquarium


Host Committee:

Shani Core and Carolyn Sasso, Chairman

Ann-Britt and Christian Angle, Nicole and David Atkinson, Molly and Larry Austin, Seena and Brendon Carrington, Page Lee Hufty, Allison Ridder Johnstone, William Meyer, Danielle Moore, Alison and Charles Sieving


Covert Operators: 

Frances and Jeffrey Fisher, Helene and Matthew Lorentzen, Heidi and John Niblack, Christine and Robert Stiller



Mary and Mark Freitas, Elizabeth and Ben Gordon, Caroline and Nick Rafferty



Wendy and Howard Cox, Kathleen and Lew Crampton, John and Diane Sculley Charitable Foundation


Undercover Agents: 

Caroline and Ed Sasso | EDS Air Conditioning and Plumbing


Double Agents:

Michelle and Howard Kessler


Operative Sponsors: 

The David and Sondra Mack Foundation, Allison and Stuart Haft, Ellen Liman, Lee & Harvey L. Poppel



Mei Sze and Jeff Greene and Nancy and William Rollnick


Official Media Sponsor:


Corporate Sponsor:


 Program 7:30 - 8:15pm

$60 Individual Ticket (Program Only) | $100 (Program + Eric ONeill's Book "Gray Day")

Registration is now closed.

For sponsorship opportunities, click here or contact Marcy Hoffman at MHoffman@sfsciencecenter.org.

Thank you for helping us achieve our mission to "Open Every Mind to Science"